The Concrete Jungle – My NYC Trip + Vlog

Hi guys! So this past weekend my family and I traveled to the East coast to visit family and during our trip we decided to travel to New York City for a day and half. Now, I had already visited NYC on a previous holiday when I was 10 so on this trip instead of doing all the touristy things we decided to just enjoy the city for what it is. This was hands down one of my favourite trips as I got to kind of experience NYC more as a New Yorker than a tourist. If it is in your means, I highly recommended going back to a place you visited on holiday and experiencing that place for what it is, by doing so you get to experience the culture and vibe of the place in a whole new way! We started of our day in Morningside Heights an area of NYC home to intellectuals and beautiful architecture. We then went to Chinatown for lunch and boy was that a culture shock. Chinatown was so busy and crowded, yet it has become on of my favourite place in the city. While it is busy and a tad polluted it is also vibrant and full of culture. There were so many markets selling fresh food and it kind of felt like I was in China. We ate at Buddha Bodai and it was hands down the best Chinese restaurant I have ever been to, and their entire menu was vegetarian!  After Chinatown, we took the subway to central park. We spent some time in central park, walked down 5th Ave., and spent way to long trying to find the Milk Bar (Lol). The Milk Bar was amazing, I got their chocolate shake and it was delicious, though it was so decadent that I had to share it with my dad. We then left to go get dinner (as I’m writing this I realize how much I ate whilst in NYC) at La Lanterna di Vittorio. I highly recommend this place, the atmosphere is nice, however I suggest calling in advance to book a table as it gets booked quite quickly around dinner time. We then traveled all the way back to morningside height to collect our car and go back to our hotel in Jersey. On the second day we only had 3 hours as we were flying out at 12. So we started the day off walking on the High Line. It was so beautiful there, we got to see the city from an elevated view and saw Zaha Hadid’s outstanding work. We then left to go get a couple of cupcakes from Magnolia Bakery and visited the Chelsea Market before leaving for the airport. If you wanna see my YT video of my trip here is the link: https://youtu.be/5WMP0cer_aY.

I had so much fun on this trip, let me know in the comments below your favourite places in NYC or any other places you have traveled!

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset
Me, on the steps of Columbia University’s Library. My shoes are sperrys: Link to a similar pair. My dress is from a local boutique but, here’s a some links to similar dresses option one, option twooption three. My sunglasses were from a random housing fair at university however here are links to some similar ones: option one and option two
Processed with VSCO with f2 preset
Milk Bar!

 

Processed with VSCO with c1 presetProcessed with VSCO with c1 presetProcessed with VSCO with c1 preset

Anu SC 2

anu-sc-3.png

ZAHA HADID

SKYLINE PIC

I hope you loved the post, please comment below! Please watch the youtube video: https://youtu.be/5WMP0cer_aY !!

Peace and Blessings,

Srini

Leave a Reply

